Princeton University

School of Engineering & Applied Science

Mark Karol
Graduate Student
Graduation Year: 
Thesis Title: 
Multiple Access Protocols for Broadcast Channels
Stuart Schwartz
Current Employer: 
Avaya, Inc.

Mark Karol is a Research Scientist with Avaya Labs in Lincroft, NJ. With Avaya, he supports the design and analysis of next-generation switching and networking products, plus contributes to the development of VoIP algorithms and network experiments. From 1985 until 2000, he was a member of the Research Communications Sciences Division at Bell Laboratories (initially AT&T and then Lucent Technologies) in Holmdel, NJ. In 2006, he also was an ECE Adjunct Professor at the Polytechnic University, Brooklyn, NY.
Mark has held many leadership positions in publications and conference activities of the IEEE. He served as the first associate editor on networks/switching for the Journal of Lightwave Technology, General Chair of the 2002 IEEE International Conference on Communications (ICC2002), General Chair of the IEEE INFOCOM'94 Conference, Chief Information Officer (CIO) of the IEEE Communications Society (ComSoc), Chair of the GLOBECOM’99 Symposium on High-Speed Networks, ComSoc Director of Magazines, Chair of the ComSoc Technical Committee on Computer Communications (TCCC), and Co-Chair of the TCCC Annual Workshop on Computer Communications. In 2002, Mark was honored with the TCCC Outstanding Service Award. Currently, he serves on the IEEE Board as the Division III (Communications Technology) Director.
In 1993, Mark was elected a Fellow of the IEEE for contributions to “the fundamental theory, design, and analysis of high-performance packet switches and multiuser lightwave communication networks.” He also received the IEEE Communications Society Best Tutorial Paper Award (1997), the Case Western Reserve University Young Alumni Award (1996), the Bell Labs Research Affirmative Action Award (1999), and the IEEE Donald W. McLellan Meritorious Service Award (2005) for outstanding long-term service to the welfare of the Communications Society.