Princeton University

School of Engineering & Applied Science

Urbasha Mitra
Graduate Student
Graduation Year: 
Thesis Title: 
Adaptive Multiuser Receivers
Vincent Poor
Current Employer: 
University of Southern California

Urbashi Mitra received the B.S. and the M.S. degrees from the University of California at Berkeley in 1987 and 1989 respectively, both in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. From 1989 until 1990 she worked as a Member of Technical Staff at Bellcore in Red Bank, NJ. In 1994, she received her Ph.D. from Princeton University in Electrical Engineering. From 1994 to 2000, Dr. Mitra was a member of the faculty of the Department of Electrical Engineering at The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio. In 2001, she joined the Department of Electrical Engineering at the University of Southern California, Los Angeles, where she is currently a Professor. She was an Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Communications from 1996 to 2001. Dr. Mitra is serving a second term as a member of the IEEE Information Theory Society's Board of Governors. Dr. Mitra is currently an Associate Editor for the IEEE Journal of Oceanic Engineering. She is an IEEE Fellow and the recipient of: Texas Instruments Visiting Professor (Fall 2002, Rice University), 2001 Okawa Foundation Award, 2000 Lumley Award for Research (OSU College of Engineering), 1997 MacQuigg Award for Teaching (OSU College of Engineering), 1996 National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER Award, 1994 NSF International Post-doctoral Fellowship, 1998 Lockheed Leadership Fellowship, 1987 California Microelectronics Fellowship. Along with Steve McLaughlin of Georgia Tech, she co-chaired the IEEE Communication Theory Symposium at ICC 2003 in Anchorage, AK. She co-chaired the first ACM Workshop on Underwater Networks at Mobicom'06. Dr.Mitra has held visiting appointments at: the Eurecom Institute, Rice University and Stanford University. Dr. Mitra is currently co-Director of the Communication Sciences Institute at the University of Southern California and the Chair of the Viterbi WiSE Committee.