Princeton University

School of Engineering & Applied Science

Electrical Engineering News

Prof. Gmachl Honored with President's Award for Distinguished Teaching

Prof. Claire Gmachl, the Eugene Higgins Professor of Electrical Engineering, was honored at the 267th Commencement ceremony with receiving the President's Award for Distuinguished Teaching.  This is Princeton's highest recognition for excellence in teaching. 

Grad Student Lu wins Best Paper Award at COSI Meeting

EE Grad Student Chien-Hung (Luke) Lu is the recipient of a best paper award at this year’s Computational Optical Sensing and Imaging Meeting (COSI) for his paper was entitled “Quantitative Phase Imaging using Entangled Photons”.  Lu is advised by Prof.

Department honors 23 students completing the PhD Program

On June 2, 2014, the EE Department celebrated 23 graduate students completing the PhD program this past year.  Family and friends attended the breakfast reception with the students and faculty advisors to celebrate this accomplishment in the students education.
Prof. Sharad Malik provided welcoming remarks and introduced the alumni speaker, Prof. Min Wu *01 of the University of Maryland.

Wysocki receives 2014 Peter Werle Early Career Scientist Award

Prof. Gerard Wysocki has been awarded the 2014 Peter Werle Early Career Scientist Award for his overall excellent track record of scientific innovation, which according to the Selection Committee is “characterized by a great deal of attention to detail, a careful execution of the experimental work, and a careful mathematical analysis of the theoretical foundations”. Prof.

Prucnal Research Group's Project selected as cover article for the June Issue of IEEE Photonics Society Newsletter

Prof. Paul Prucnal's research on the Photonic Neuron Project was featured as the cover article (including the cover artwork) on the June issue of the IEEE Photonics Society Newsletter. The article titled “Photonic Spike Processing: Ultrafast Laser Neurons and an Integrated Photonic Network” was written by Bhavin Shastri (postdoctoral research fellow), Alexander Tait (graduate student), Mitchell Nahmias (graduate student) and Prof. Paul Prucnal.

Mittal received Best Paper Award at ASIACCS 2014

A paper coauthored by Prof. Prateek Mittal (together with Anupam Das, Nikita Borisov and Matthew Caesar from University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) has received Best Paper Award at the 9th ACM Symposium on Information, Computer and Communications Security (ASIACCS 2014) held in Kyoto, Japan.  The paper is entitled "Re3 : Relay Reliability Reputation for Anonymity Systems".  More details can be found here

Princeton University wins DOE funding for solid-state lighting project

Princeton University is one of nine recipients for DOE funding for solid-state lighting (SSL) project.  The title of this project is "ITO-free White OLEDs on Flexible Substrates with Enhanced Light Outcoupling".  The proposal was submitted by EE Profs. Barry Rand and Stephen Chou and MAE Prof.

Two EE Seniors Receive SEAS Undergraduate Awards

Callie Woods '14, advised by Claire Gmachl and Abigail Ward  '14 advised by Naveen Verma, received SEAS Undergraduate Awards on June 2, 2014.

Two EE Grad Students are Co- Recipients of Newport Graduate Student Award

Arvind Ravikumar, advised by Prof. Claire Gmachl, and John Chang *14, advised by Prof. Paul Prucnal, are the co-winners of the 2014 Newport Graduate Award in Photonics.  To read the full story, please click here.

2014 Department Undergraduate Awards

The EE Class of 2014 was honored during the department Class Day celebration on June 2nd.  During the celebration, the Electrical Engineering Department bestows department awards to six graduating seniors.

Three Grad Students Awarded with Departmental Awards

The Electrical Engineering Department awarded three graduate students with departmental awards.
Neereja Sundaresan, advised by Prof. Andrew Houck,  received the Early Career Award.  This award is given to a student following the completion of the second year of the program and outstanding performance on the general exam.

Grad Student, Warren Rieutort-Louis, receives Honorific Fellowship!

Grad Student, Warren Rieutort-Louis, advised by Prof. Sigurd Wagner, Prof. James Sturm and Prof.  Naveen Verma, received Honorific Fellowships from the Princeton University Graduate School.

Wentzlaff wins funding from Project X

Prof. David Wentzlaff has won funding from Project X for his proposal entitled “Removing the Search from Search-and-Rescue:  Multi-Party Search Leveraging Mobile Computation”.  Project X was established through the generosity and vision of G. Lynn Shostack S’69 in honor of David A. Gardner ’69, and supports exploratory research that is not easily funded through traditional mechanisms.

Jha's research regarding medical device security highlighted in New York Times article

Prof. Niraj Jha and his research team (ex graduate students: Chunxiao Li and Meng Zhang), in collaboration with Prof.

John Donnal'07 and his team members win prize at Soldier Design Competition

John Donnal'07 and his fellow team members have developed a smart meter that analyzes how much electricity a base uses. Dubbed Wattsworth, the system uses noncontact sensors to measure the electromagnetic field around wires and takes a reading 8000 times per second, compared with the once a minute of traditional sensors.

Grad Student Janam Jhaveri named Maeder Graduate Fellow in Energy and the Environment

EE Graduate Student, Janam Jhaveri, advised by Prof. James Sturm, has received the Maeder Graduate Fellowship in Energy and the Environment for the 2014 - 2015 academic year.  To read more, please click here.

Wagner honored for mentoring graduate students

Prof. Sigurd Wagner is one of five faculty members honored for excellence in mentoring graduate students.  Graduate students nominate faculty members for the award and, along with faculty members, serve on the committee that selects the winners. 

Chou wins IEEE Pioneer Award in Nanotechnology

Prof. Stephen Chou will receive the IEEE Pioneer Award in Nanotechnology presented at IEEE NANO 2014 in Toronto, Canada in August.  The official citation reads “For seminal inventions, developments, and academic-industrial-impacts of new nanopatterning methods, especially nanoimprint; and new paradigm-shift electronic, optical, magnetic, biological nanodevices.”  The IEEE Nanotechnology Council supports the theory, design, and development of nanotechnology and its scientific, engineering, and industrial a

Verdú elected to the National Academy of Sciences

Prof. Sergio Verdú has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS).  Established in 1863, the NAS is an honorific society of distinguished scholars involved in scientific and engineering research. This year, the NAS has elected 84 new members and 21 foreign associates to recognize their continuing achievements. Membership of the Academy is composed of approximately 2,214 members and 444 foreign associates.   


Poor elected as Foreign Member of the Royal Society of London

Prof. Vincent Poor has been elected as a Foreign Member of the Royal Society of London.  Through a peer review process, Fellows and Foreign Members are elected for life on the basis of their excellent contributions in science.  The Royal Society of London has approximately 1,450 Fellows and Foreign Members, including around 80 Nobel Laureates.  More details can be found here.