Princeton University

School of Engineering & Applied Science

Electrical Engineering News Archive

Main News Page

Emmanuel Abbe receives Walter Curtis Johnson Award

Prof. Emmanuel Abbe receives the Walter Curtis Johnson Award for excellence in teaching undergraduate students!

Department Welcomes 27 new Graduate Students

Department welcomes new graduate students.

Princeton juniors build robotic projects

Princeton juniors majoring in electrical engineering put their previous coursework into practice by building robotic projects in the course "Building Real Systems," known as Car Lab,  Video link is below.

EE Undergraduate student receive a top prizes at Opening Exercises

Princeton University honored EE undergraduate with one of it top prizes during Opening Exercises.

Yanqi Zhou Selected to Attend 2016 Rising Stars Workshop

EE Graduate Student Yanqi Zhou has been selected to attend 2016 Rising Stars Workshop hosted by Carnegie Melon University this October.

Janam Jhaveri selected as 2017 Siebel Scholar in Energy Science

EE Graduate Student Janam Jhaveri is the receipient of 2017 Siebel Scholars award. Janam is advised by Prof. James Sturm. 

Wagner receives 2016 IBM Faculty Award

Emeritus Professor receives 2016 IBM Faculty Award.

EE Students and Faculty Present Security Research at ACM Conference

EE Faculty and Grad Students present papers at 23rd Annual ACM Conference on Computer and Communications Security.

New Microchip "Piton" presented at Hot Chips Symposium

Princeton Parallel Group's "Piton", among the largest chip ever built in academica, shows how servers could run far more efficiently and cheaply.

Changchang Liu selected to attend 2016 Rising Stars Workshop

EE Graduate Student Changchang Liu has been selected to attend the 2016 Rising Stars Workshop hosted by Carnegie Melon University. 

Kahn appointed as Vice Dean of SEAS

Prof. Antoine Kahn, Electrical Engineering professor and Stephen C. Macaleer '63 Professor in Engineering and Applied Science, has been appointed as vice dean of the School of Engineering.

Grad Student Deborah Varnell selected as finalist at CLEO 2016

Grad Student Deborah Varnell (advisor Prof. Claire Gmachl) has been selected as a finalist of the Maiman Student Paper Competition at the Conference on Lasers and Electro-Optics (CLEO) 2016 for her presentation entitled “Spectroscopy and Imaging Using a Mid-IR Quantum Cascade Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT) System“.

Chou collaborates with U.S. Government to develop more rapid, accurate and inexpensive test for Ebola virus

Development of quick, early test for Ebola could prevent future epidemics.

Chiang awarded SEAS Distinguished Teaching Award

Electrical Engineering Professor receives Distinguished Teacher Award from the School of Engineering.

Alejandro Rodriguez awarded junior faculty award from SEAS

E. Lawrence Keys, Jr./Emerson Electric Co. Faculty Advancement Award is given to Alejandro Rodriguez.

Najwa Aaraj *09 now a senior vice president at Dark Matter

Najwa Aaraj *09 has been promoted to senior vice president of special projects at Dark Matter, an international cyber security firm based in the United Arab Emirates.

Diane Souvaine *84 *86 elected vice chair of the National Science Board

Diane Souvaine  *84 *86, vice provost for research at Tufts University, has been elected vice chair of the National Science Board (NSB), the governing body of the National Science Foundation (NSF).

Ron Brachman ’71 is new director of Jacobs Technion-Cornell Institute

Cornell Tech has appointed Rob Brachman its new director of the Joan & Irwin Jacobs Technion-Cornell Institute.  The Jacobs Institute is the result of an academic partnership between Cornell University and the Technion Israel-Institute of Technology at Cornell Tech. It strives to be an institution with a non-traditional and multidisciplinary approach to research, education and entrepreneurship.

FirstEnergy Names Ketan K. Patel '92 Vice President, Corporate Secretary, and Chief Ethics Officer

The FirstEnergy Corp. Board of Directors has elected Ketan K. Patel vice president, Corporate Secretary and Chief Ethics Officer effective July 1, 2016.  In his new role he will serve as a primary liaison to the Board of Directors and oversee the Corporate, Real Estate and Records & Information Compliance departments.

The Department Celebrates its 2016 PhD Graduates

The Department honors 28 Ph.D. graduates during a breakfast reception and ceremony.