Princeton University

School of Engineering & Applied Science

Oscar C. Au
Graduate Student
Graduation Year: 
Thesis Title: 
Signal Detection in Non-Gaussian Transformation Noise
John Thomas
Current Employer: 
Hong Kong University of Science & Technology

Oscar C. Au received his B.A.Sc. from Univ. of Toronto in 1986, his M.A. and Ph.D. from Princeton Univ. in 1988 and 1991 respectively. After being a postdoctoral researcher in Princeton Univ. for one year, he joined the Dept. of Electrical and Electronic Engineering of the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) in 1992 and was promoted to be a Full Professor. His main research contributions are on video/image coding and processing, watermarking/light weight encryption, speech/audio processing. Research topics include fast motion estimation for H.261/3/4/5, MPEG-1/2/4, and AVS, optimal and fast sub-optimal rate control, mode decision, transcoding, denoising, deinterlacing, post-processing, multi-view coding, view interpolation, depth estimation, 3DTV, scalable video coding, distributed video coding, subpixel rendering, JPEG/JPEG2000, HDR imaging, compressive sensing, halftone image data hiding, GPU-processing, software-hardware co-design, etc. He has published 70 technical journal papers, 370+ conference papers, 3 book chapters, and 70+ contributions to international standards. His fast motion estimation algorithms were accepted into the ISO/IEC 14496-7 MPEG-4 international video coding standard and the China AVS-M standard. His light-weight encryption and error resilience algorithms are accepted into the China AVS standard. He was Chair of Screen Content Coding AdHoc Group in JCTVC for HEVC. He has 25+ granted US patents and is applying for 70+ more on his signal processing techniques. Dr. Au is a Fellow of IEEE and HKIE. He is/was Associate/Senior Editors of several IEEE journals and non-IEEE journals). He is/was BoG member and Vice President - Technical Activity of APSIPA. He is/was Chair of 3 technical committees and a member of 5 other. He served on 2 steering committees: IEEE TMM, and IEEE ICME. He also served on organizing committee of many conferences including ISCAS 1997, ICASSP 2003, ISO/IEC 71st MPEG in Jan 2005, ICIP 2010, etc. He was/will be General Chair of several conferences: PCM 2007, ICME 2010, PV 2010, MMSP 2015, APSIPA ASC 2015, and ICME 2017. He won 5 best paper awards: SiPS 2007, PCM 2007, MMSP 2012, ICIP 2013, and MMSP 2013. He was IEEE Distinguished Lecturer (DL) in 2009 and 2010, APSIPA DL in 2013 and 2014, and has been keynote speaker multiple times.